Friday, April 08, 2016

Gaelic Games Round-Up

SFL Division 2

Ballinabranna 1-7

Kilbride 1-7

This was nip and tuck from start to finish but there was an explosive finish to the contest when both sides struck for late goals. Kilbride looked to have stolen the points but Darren Lunney held his composure and slotted a late, late penalty which ensured the league points were divided in Ballinabranna on Sunday. Kilbride led 0-5 to 0-2 at the break.

Ballinabranna: Adrian Brennan; Enda Dunne, Bobby Daly, Rory Keating; Cathal Owens, Colm Byrne, Willie Kavanagh; Gary Dunne (0-3), Jakub Mikolajczyk; Darren Lunney (1-4, pen, 0-2 frees), Jimmy Cahill, Patrick Dunne; Keane McDonald, William Ryan, Damien Sheehen.

Kilbride: Stephen Curry 1-1, Darragh Foley 0-4, Pauric Nolan 0-2.


Clonmore 2-16

Fenagh 0-2

CLONMORE got their league campaign off to a winning start with a convincing win over a depleted Fenagh side on Good Friday. Clonmore’s superior fitness, fast inter-passing and accurate point scoring were the difference between the teams.
Despite playing against a strong wind in the first half, Clonmore led 0-8 to 0-2 at half-time.   Fenagh struggled against the quality of Clonmore’s play with the winners’ defence tackling hard and transferring the ball quickly to the forwards. They, in turn, showed great energy and put together some very slick passing moves resulting in a string of fine points. The midfielders also impressed. A goal scored immediately after half-time by Niall Humphries ensured there was no way back for Fenagh and a second by substitute Daniel Quigley on 55 minutes was the icing on the cake.
Clonmore: Paddy Byrne;  John Kelly, Sean Doyle, Paul Hogan;  David McCarney (0-1), Shane Murphy (0-1), Andrew Byrne; Alan Humphries (0-1), Anthony Byrne (0-1); Enda McGrath (0-2), Con Murphy (0-4, 0-3 free), Paddy Gahan (0-3);  Larry Doyle, John McGrath (0-1), Niall Humphries (1-1). Subs: Jordan Kane (0-2, 0-1 free), Daniel Quigley (1-0), Dale McNamara, Martin Byrne, Adam Byrne.
Referee: David Hughes (Bagenalstown)


Fighting Cocks 1-7

Grange 3-17

Level 1-6 to 2-3 at the interval in the Fighting Cocks ground, Grange pulled away from their opponents who will surely improve in the coming weeks. It was Stephen Doyle’s speculative effort which fell over the line which gave the eventual winners the impetus to drive on and take the points.

Grange: Charlie Timmins; Paddy Byrne, Cillian Murphy, Shane Doyle; Martin Kelly, Henry Hegarty (0-2), Ned Pender; Paul O’Halloran, Cathal Bailey (1-1); Michael Murphy, John Murphy (1-7), Stevie Doyle (1-3); David Cleere (0-3), Seamus Hegarty, Niall Byrne. Subs: Michael Shannon (0-1) for Hegarty, Gordon Hegarty for Kelly.

Fighting Cocks: Joe O’Connor; Paul Hickey, Eoin O’Byrne, Tom Smithers; Jason Kelly, James Hickey, James Connolly; Liam Shepherd, Seamus Quirke; Conor O’Byrne (0-1), Ruairi Nevin, Trevor Watchorn; Alan Quigley (0-2), Patrick Curry, Colm Quigley (1-3). Subs: Ross Elmes (0-1), Ryan O’Sullivan, Niall Byrne, Keith Bolger, Edward Byrne, Alan Janey.


Railyard 3-6

St Andrew’s 0-9

After grinding out a great senior football championship semi-final one-point success over Muckalee on Saturday in Castlecomer, Railyard opened their Carlow SFL Division 2 season with an encouraging win over St Andrew’s on Sunday in Moneenroe.

St Andrew’s scorers: Jamie Clarke 0-4, John Doyle 0-2, Andrew Beaton 0-2, Darren Crooks 0-1.

Railyard: Ciaran Farnan; David O’Neill, David Roche, Brian McDonald; Paul Kelly, Paul  Roche, Dean Shortall; Conor McDonald, Cormac McDonald; Fergal Brennan, Philip Roche (0-1), Noel Raftery; Kieran Whelan (1-3, 0-1 free), Paul Donnelly (2-2, 0-1 free), Sean O’Neill. Subs: Noel Roche, MJ Feehan, Sean Gargan.


Ladies Football: Leinster U16 Football Championship

Offaly 4-27

Carlow 2-11

Carlow started brightly in this U16 Leinster championship match in Tullamore  on Thursday and raced into an early 1-2 to 0-0 lead. Offaly soon found their rhythm and monopolised possession for the remainder of the half as their speed and accuracy up front helped them to a 1-19 to 1-4 half-time lead.

As the Carlow team grew into the game, the second half was evenly balanced and Carlow matched the efforts of the home team but, crucially, Offaly found it easier to convert scoring chances. Sinéad Hayden, Ciara Murphy, Niamh Bailey, Sarah Doyle and Rachel Whelan were most notable for Carlow who will be hoping for an improved overall performance in their next game away to Wexford.

Carlow: Sinéad Hayden (Bennekerry/Tinryland);  Róisín Meaney (St Andrew’s), Róisín Ryan (Old Leighlin), Niamh Bailey (St Anne’s); Natasha Doyle (Rathvilly), Ciara Murphy (Old Leighlin), Amy Hanley (Old Leighlin); Ciara Murphy (Old Leighlin), Ellen Murphy (Ballinkillen); Sarah Doyle (St Brigid’s), Anna Doyle (St Brigid’s), Eibhe Lawler (Old Leighlin);  Ciara Kavanagh (MLR), Rachel Whelan (Rathvilly), Ruby Bolger (MLR). Subs: Sadhbh Douglas (Rathvilly), Anna Fenlon (MLR).


Leinster Hurling League Division 2

Erin’s Own 3-9

Castletown 2-11

Erin’s Own made the journey to the Laois venue a successful one on Saturday. Having played with the wind in the first half they went in at the break 3-6 to 0-5 ahead.

Craig Doyle scored the first goal and Eoin Minchin added two more but it was a backs to the wall job in the second period. When Castletown equalised in the concluding stages they must have thought this was the cue to go ahead and win the game but Erin’s Own won crucial possession. In stepped Doyle who managed to snatch the winning point for an excellent win.

Erin’s Own: James Carroll; Thomas Maher, Dermot Somers (0-1), Jamie Whelan; Martin Cummins, John Rogers (0-1), Andrew Casey; Brian Doyle (0-2), David Galway; David Miley (0-1), Craig Doyle (1-4), Liam Galway; Alan Whelan, Eoin Minchin (2-0), Jamie Clarke. Subs: Mark McDonald for D Galway, David Corcoran for Whelan (45 mins), David Galway for Clarke (55 mins).

Other Carlow clubs enjoyed victories in their respective Kilkenny League games with St Mullins travelling to Clara and beating the home side comprehensively by 2-15 to 1-8.

Two sides who don’t live too far from each other enjoyed a ding-dong affair but it was Naomh Brid who prevailed against Barrow Rangers by 1-14 to 2-9. The eventual winners led 1-8 to 1-3 at the break and withstood the second half rally in Paulstown. Both games were played on Saturday.


Minor Hurling League

Naomh Bríd 0-11

Burren Rangers 0-7

With a strong wind in the first half Naomh Bríd got off to a great start in this minor hurling league tie on Sunday.  Burren Rangers battled hard keeping pressure on the Naomh Bríd goalie Cian McDonald who pulled off some great saves but the eventual winners led 0-7 to 0-2 at the break.
Burren Rangers got off to a great start to the second half hitting over some nice scores but Naomh Bríd fought hard against the wind. Mikey Bambrick struck over a couple of points to settle Naomh Bríd and they come through with a win.

Best for Naomh Brid were Eanna Holland, Tommy Dunne, Cathal Owens, Michael Sheerin and Brian Mulleney while Sam Meaney, Jim Nolan, Conor Quinn and Nathan Fitzgerald excelled for Burren Rangers.

Naomh Bríd: Cian McDonald;  Caomhian Ryan, Eanna Holland, Fionn White;  Conor Daly, Tommy Dunne, Jack Bermingham;  Dylan Kavanagh (0-5, 0-3 frees), Cathal Murphy, Michael Sheerin, Mikey Bambrick (0-2) David Cox, Cathal Owens (0-2) Brian Mulleney (0-1), Danny Nolan (0-1). Subs: Andy Mulleney for Cox, Ronan Curran for Nolan.

Referee: Martin Murphy (Tinryland).



Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 59 9170100

More Carlow Sport

Gowran fiercely proud of Thyestes showpiece