Friday, April 15, 2016

SFL Division 3

GAA Round-Up


Rathvilly 3-18

St Andrew’s 2-2

An opening salvo where Conor Owens shot 2-1 (including a penalty) without reply was a huge confidence booster for Rathvilly and while Keith McDonald hit back with two of his own for St Andrew’s the eventual winners’ dander was up and they were not going to be caught in Rathvilly on Thursday.

They led 2-8 to 2-2 at the break and early points in the second half by Shane Kehoe, Donie Kelly and Dominic Byrne stretched the lead. Rathvilly piled on the scores and look impressive even at this stage of the season.

Rathvilly: Dylan Connors; Philip Deane, David Kelly, Jeff Worth; Kevin McCall, James Leonard, Denis Kelly (0-1); Patrick Byrne (0-2), Tony Bolger (0-1); Liam Kelly (0-1), Brian Smith, Robbie Ryan (0-1); Shane Keogh (0-2), Donie Kelly (0-2), Conor Owens (2-4). Subs: Adam Lawlor, Dominic Byrne (0-3), Larry Farrell, Jake Elliot, Aaron Broughill, Gary Smith (1-1), Paul Hickey, Andrew Hogan, DJ O’Connor, Brian O’Donoghue.
St Andrew’s: Keith Hickey; Justin Manning, Liam Cummins, Dylan Nolan; Martin Maher, Morgan Drea, Cathal Cole; David Corcoran (0-1), Nathan Byrne; James Duggan, Conor Murphy, Jason Shinnors (0-1); Keith McDonald (2-0), Dessie Dowling, Declan Salter. Subs: Barry Bambrick, Michael Dowling, Conor Cunningham, Pat Nolan.
Referee: Billy Fanning (Ballon)


Tinryland 3-14

St Patrick’s 2-11

The age profile of this Tinryland team had a relatively inexperienced look about it but they battled to a 2-7 to 2-6 lead in an entertaining first half. A Peter Hennessy goal proved decisive in the second period as Tinryland held what they had and deserved this significant win in Tinryland on Thursday.

The scoring threat came from the St Patrick’s half-forward line who hit 2-9 between them.

Tinryland: Ciaran Byrne; Liam Fitzpatrick, Peter Doran, Conor Ryan; Cathal Gaffney (0-1), Padraig Delaney (0-1), Owen O’Gorman; Peter Hennessy (2-0), Conor McGrath; Rory Doyle (0-1), Alan Barrett (1-1), Ciaran Townsend (0-1), Padraic Whelan (0-6 4fs), Gregg Murphy (0-1), Paul Doyle (0-2). Subs Adam Dunne, David Townsend, Adam Mullen, Killian Maher, Dean Farrell.

St Patrick’s: James Tobin; Gary Maxwell, Alan O’Neill, Darren Butler; Lee Kavanagh, Anthony Moran, Rory Jones; Jack Ryan, Eoin Doyle; Shane Farrell, Jack Kennedy (1-7), Lorcan O’Toole (1-2); Michael O’Brien (0-1), Ben Hade, Aimean Maher (0-1).


SFL Division 4

Asca 0-13

Naomh Eoin 1-6

Asca got there Division 4 league campaign off to a winning start with a four-point win over Naomh Eoin at Presentation College Carlow on Wednesday.

Asca: Noel O’Reilly; Brendan Shortt, Darren Talbot, Benny Murphy; Alan Bulter, Paul Lawler, Brian Hosey; Jimmy White (0-2), John Dwyer; Conor O’Brien, Conor Byrne (0-2), Tobogo Sebella; Brain Coogan (0-5), Eoghan Everson, John Kavanagh (0-3). Subs: Ollie Keating, Kieran Kavanagh, David O’ Regan (0-1), David Kelly, Martin Kelly


Palatine 2-10

Kildavin-Clonegal 1-3

Jimmy Fitzpatrick, Brian Rowan, Darragh Fitzpatrick, Sean Brennan, Conor Clonan and Mark Brennan all played well as Palatine were too good for Kildavin-Clonegal in this Division 4 game at Palatine on Wednesday.
Palatine: Conor Clonan 2-2, Sean Brennan 0-4, Mark Brennan 0-3, Tiernan MacNamara 0-1.


Éire Óg 2-6

O’Hanrahan’s 4-16

O’Hanrahan’s put their town rivals to the sword with ease. With the winning full-forward line registering a total of 3-11 between them the home side had no answers. The Blues led 3-8 to 0-1 at the break and only for the heroics of Jordan Roche in the Éire Óg goal the margin of victory would have been even worse. O’Hanrahans tore them apart and were impressive from beginning to end.

O’Hanrahan’s: Jesse Shaw; Paul Condron, Seamus Farrell, Trevor Power; Eddie Davis (0-1), Barry English, Ger Sinnott; Paul Clancy, Karol English; Oisin Sinnott, Davy Walker, Peter Fagan (1-4); Paul Core (0-4), Ernie Core (2-1), Marc Carpenter (1-6). Subs: Willie O’Reilly, John Nangle, Fiach Moriarty, Danny Rea, Terry Jones.

Éire Óg:  Jordan Roche; Ian Mahon, James Ryan, Luke Fitzpatrick; Eoin Bailey, Bernard Hennessy (0-1), Liam Ramsbottom; Adam Murphy (1-5), Conor Byrne; Harry Hynes, Niall Kelly (1-0), Andy Byrne; Paul Walsh, Cody Geoghegan, Tomás Walsh. Subs: Paul Behan, Alex O’Meara.


Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 59 9170100

More Carlow Sport

Gowran fiercely proud of Thyestes showpiece