Friday, November 10, 2017

Athleitcs: Co Carlow Cross-Country Championshis Day 1   

There was another exciting and very competitive day of cross-country running at the first stage of the Carlow CC Championships in the fine surrounds of Ballon.

With some large fields of competitors on the day, along with some fine individual performances, there are great hopes that these events will continue to grow in the years to come.

In the masters men’s event the ageless Tommy Payne of Tinryland put in an excellent performance to hold off JJ Murphy to take gold with Rock Pender of St Laurence O’Toole’s showing no ill effects from a marathon run the previous day to take the bronze medal. Denis Shannon was fourth and Michael Hade fifth ensuring Tinryland won the team section.

Brid Long was an impressive winner of the masters ladies title ahead of Maria Curran and Marion Dowling.

In the juvenile events for the even age groups, there were some very exciting races with prominent athletes including Edward Byrne of the host club (boys U10), Sophie Myers and Aoife Byrne of St Laurence O’Toole’s (girls U12) and Sam McHugh with a fine win in the boys U12 for St Laurence O’Tooles and 14 events.

The most dominant winner on the day was the very talented Padraig Spillane of St Laurence O’Toole’s in the boys U14 event.

In the girls U16 Ciara Moore (St Laurence O’Toole’s) lead the race throughout in a fine run with her team-mate Aoibhe Kiernan (St Laurence O’Tooles) running a brave race to win silver.

Great credit must also go to local officials in Ballon/Rathoe and the Carlow athletics county board for having the venue in excellent condition on the day with large support for athletes on the course.

The masters competitors: Denis Shannon, Maria Curran, Brid Long, Marion Dowling, Michael Hade, Rock Pender, JJ Murphy and Tommy Payne


Girls U10: 1 Katie Myers (SLOT), 2 Katie O’Reilly (SLOT), 3 Ada Bambrick (Barrow Valley), 4 Siofra Harvey (SLOT), 5 Katie Foley (Barrow Valley), 6 Hannah Moriarty (Barrow Valley), 7 Lucy O’Reilly (SLOT), 8 Ciara Lawlor (Ballon/Rathoe), 9 Lia Morrissey (Ballon/Rathoe), 10 Kate Comerford (Barrow Valley), 11 N Bambrick (Barrow Valley), 12 Summer Doorley (SLOT), 13 Jodie Foley (Barrow Valley), 14 Katie Hogan (Ballon/Rathoe), 15 Pippa Blake (Barrow Valley), 16 Emily Jones (Ardattin), 17 Orla O’Shea (SLOT), 18 Alannah McDonald (Barrow Valley), 19 Niamh Brennan (Barrow Valley), 20 Grace Callaghan (Barrow Valley). Team: 1 SLOT 14 pts

Boys U10: 1 Edward Byrne (Ballon/Rathoe), 2 Cathal Purcell (SLOT), 3 Alan Fitzgerald (Barrow Valley), 4 Kyle Moloney (Ballon/Rathoe), 5 Michael Duke (SLOT), 6 Freddie Gibson (Ballon/Rathoe), 7 Tommy Cooney (SLOT), 8 Daniel Brennan (Barrow Valley), 9 Eoin Raleigh (Ballon/Rathoe), 10 Dylan Boyd (SLOT), 11 Michael Redmond (Ardattin), 12 David O’Shea (SLOT), 13 Finnan Nolan (Barrow Valley), 14 Conor Comerford (Barrow Valley), 15 Adam Cox (Ardattin), 16 Nathan Hanlon (Barrow Valley), 17 Luke Honeyball (Barrow Valley), 18 Robbie Honeyball (Barrow Valley), Team: 1 Ballon/Rathoe 20 pts

Girls U12: 1 Sophie Myers (SLOT), 2 Aisling Kennedy (Hacketstown), 3 Lucy Myers (SLOT), 4 Caoimhe Byrne (Ardattin), 5 Lily Jones (Ardattin), 6 Emily Lawlor (SLOT), 7 Aoife McFarland (Ballon/Rathoe), 8 Bebhinn Nolan (Barrow Valley), 9 Niamh Kennedy (Hacketstown), 10 Niamh Cox (Ardattin), 11 Holly Blake (Barrow Valley), 12 Ella McDonald (Barrow Valley), Team: 1 SLOT 10 pts

Boys U12: 1 Sam McHugh (SLOT), 2 Dylan Ruane (Ballon/Rathoe), 3 Cathal Moriarty (Barrow Valley), 4 Mike Geraghty Glynn (Barrow Valley), 5 James McDermott Walsh (Ballon/Rathoe), 6 Eoin Grassick (Barrow Valley), 7 Aaron Dowling (Ballon/Rathoe), 8 Sam Myler (Ballon/Rathoe), 9 Jamie Byrne (Barrow Valley), 10 Liam Kennedy (Hacketstown), 11 Aaron McDonald (Barrow Valley), 12 Sean Roberts (Ardattin), Team: 1 Ballon/Rathoe 22 pts

Girls U14: 1 Aoife Byrne (SLOT), 2 Sheila Doyle (SLOT), 3 Roisin Carroll (Ardattin), 4 Niamh Brophy (Ballon/Rathoe), 5 Aisling Byrne (Ardattin), 6 Pia O’Grady (Barrow Valley), 7 Eimear Raleigh (Ballon/Rathoe), 8 Sarah McCaffrey (Ballon/Rathoe), 9 Roisin Conry (Ballon/Rathoe), 10 Edel Morrissey (Ballon/Rathoe), 11 Eimear Deacon (Ballon/Rathoe), 12 Nagore Zapiain (Ballon/Rathoe), 13 Ruth O’Byrne (Ballon/Rathoe), Team: 1 Ballon/Rathoe 30 pts

Boys U14: 1 Padraig Spillane (SLOT), 2 Tadhg Hutton (Ballon/Rathoe), 3 Brian Hutton (Ballon/Rathoe), 4 John Phiri (SLOT), 5 James McDonald (Barrow Valley), 6 Naoise Brennan (Barrow Valley), 7 Sean Corcoran (SLOT), 8 Darragh Fitzgerald (Barrow Valley), 9 Aaron Murray (Ardattin), 10 Joe Comerford (Barrow Valley), Team: 1 Barrow Valley 29 pts

Girls U16: 1 Ciara Moore (SLOT), 2 Aoibhe Kiernan (SLOT)

Boys U16: 1 Lorcan Canavan (Ardattin)

Masters Women: 1 Brid Long (SLOT), 2 Maria Curran (SLOT), 3 Marion Dowling (Ballon/Rathoe)

Masters Men: 1 Tommy Payne (Tin), 2 JJ Murphy (Tin), 3 Rock Pender(SLOT), 4 Denis Shannon (Tin), 5 Michael Hade (Tin), Team: 1 Tinryland 12 pts

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 59 9170100

More Carlow Sport

Five events to watch this weekend

McGrane making plans for new Carlow role

Presentation DLS teams battle all the way