Friday, November 10, 2017

U12 Division 3C final
Michael Davitts 0-1

Rathvilly 0-1

By Aaron Doyle

IN what was an unusually low-scoring contest, the U12 Division 3C final between Michael Davitts and Rathvilly finished in a draw at Netwatch Cullen Park.

Rathvilly started out better early on with Luca Kavanagh and Cillian Molloy in particular playing well. But they couldn’t make the most of the opportunities that were presented to them. That being said, Michael Davitts’ defence managed to keep chances to a premium.

Rathvilly’s defence was also strong and they forced Cathal Moriarty to take a shot from distance with the ball not having enough power to beat James Roche. Both sides had their chances but neither side could make the most of them. Moriarty had a goal chance but he seemed off balance taking the shot, which led to it going wide, while Molloy came close with frees but they just sailed wide. This led to a half-time score that not many people in attendance would have seen before, 0-0 to 0-0.

Both sides pushed on for scores in the second half with Noel Meaney coming close to a goal but Bryce Gardiner pulled off a fine foot save to keep the ball out of the Rathvilly goal. Brian O’Dwyer and Brynn Nolan came close for their respective sides but they were wide of the mark.

Alfie Barcoe played well throughout the game and he had the ball in the net after 29 minutes but the goal was disallowed for over-carrying. Aaron McDonald came close for Davitts before his side took the lead when Meaney played a kick-pass to an unmarked Moriarty who managed to get his shot off and over the bar.

Molloy slotted over a free for Rathvilly to get the equaliser with six minutes to go. McDonald came close once again before a bit of controversy to end the game when Barcoe’s shot for Michael Davitts seemed to bounce off Gardiner before going out but the referee and umpire were in agreement that the ball hit the Rathvilly keeper after going wide.

Michael Davitts: James Roche; Ben Stanley, Matt Burke; Conor De Lacey, Zach Kelly; Brian O’Dwyer, Noel Meaney; Eoin Bambrick, Alfie Barcoe; Jamie Brennan, Cathal Moriaryt (0-1) Subs: Luke Townsend, Aaron McDonald, Kevin Lawler, Cillian O’Brien

Rathvilly: Bryce Gardiner; Conor Reilly, DJ Carroll; Darragh Corcoran, Joseph Gibbons; Daire Byrne, Luca Kavanagh; Jack Corcoran, Brynn Nolan; Sean Byrne, Cillian Molloy (0-1 free) Subs: Callum Costa, DJ Gahan Barnes

Referee: Seamie Doyle (Fighting Cocks)

The Michael Davitts U12 football team

The Rathvilly U12 footballers


Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 59 9170100

More Carlow Sport

Five events to watch this weekend

McGrane making plans for new Carlow role

Presentation DLS teams battle all the way