Wednesday, November 07, 2018

THERE was another very competitive morning of athletics at the Carlow Uneven Age Group and Novice Cross Country Championships in Ballon.
There was a large turnout with team and individual titles going to Ardattin, Ballon/Rathoe, St Laurence O’Toole’s, Barrow Valley, Hacketstown and Tinryland.

The start of the girls U13 race in Ballon

There were some fine young athletes competing on the day with Matthew Jordan of Barrow Valley and Anna Byrne of Hacketstown both leading home large fields in the boys and girls under-9 events respectively.
Mikey Byrne of O’Toole’s was an excellent winner in the boys under-11 event, holding off the challenge of team-mate Aaron Meredith who won the boys under-12 event two weeks previously.

U11 winners Mikie Byrne, Aaron Meredith and Jack Mahon

Ada Bambrick of Barrow Valley put in an outstanding run to win the girls under-11 title to add to the under-10 award she won a fortnight before at the same venue.
In the boys under-13 race, Dillon Byrne of Hacketstown was a fine individual winner with Caoimhe Byrne of Ardattin an equally impressive first finisher in the girls under-13 event.

Men’s novice medal winners Niall Harvey (silver), Larry Murphy (gold) and Matthew English Hayden (bronze)

While there were once again depleted fields in the older age group events, there were still notable runs from Tadhg Hutton of O’Toole’s in the boys under-15 event with Aoife Byrne of O’Toole’s in the girls under-15 and team-mate Elsa Doyle in the girls under-17 events taking their respective titles.
In the men’s novice event, there was an outstanding run by the experienced Larry Murphy of Tinryland who won his first individual title ahead of a large field.

Cathal Purcell and James Garrigan

Larry, who has been in fine form in recent months, had to work very hard on the day to overcome the challenges of runner-up Niall Harvey and third-placed Matthew English- Hayden of Ballon Rathoe.
In the team section, Ballon placed well to take a magnificent title with English-Hayden backed up by Damien Malone (5th), Paddy Doyle (7th) and Kevin Gibson (16th).
Catherine Doyle of O’Toole’s produced a fine running display to win the ladies novice event with Rosie Conway of Ballon/Rathoe taking the runner-up position ahead of bronze medal winner Catriona Murphy of Barrow Valley.

Joe Kirwan, Louie Stone and Mike Sheehan

Ballon once again took the team title with Conway backed up by Jane Canavan (4th), Laura Doyle (5th) and Marion Dowling (6th).
Boys U9 1 Matthew Jordan (Barrow Valley), 2 Alex Broderick (O’Toole’s), 3 William Myers (O’Toole’s), 4 Mike Sheehan (Ardattin), 5 Joe Kirwan (Ardattin), 6 Peter Lawlor (O’Toole’s), 7 Colm Donald (Ballon/Rathoe), 8 Shane McCaffrey (Ballon/Rathoe), 9 Ben Tracey (Ardattin), 10 Padraic Hogan (Ballon/Rathoe), 11 Joey Drea (Barrow Valley), 12 Connor McDonald (Barrow Valley), 13 Louis Stone (Ardattin), 14 Sean Dunne (Ardattin), 15 Donnacha Myers (St Patrick’s), 16 Calum Moloney (Ballon/Rathoe), 17 Cian Dunne (Ardattin), 18 Luke Honeyball (Barrow Valley). Team: 1 Ardattin, 2 Barrow Valley
Girls U9 1 Anna Byrne (Hacketstown AC), 2 Roisín Corcoran (O’Toole’s), 3 Eimear Bolger (Ballon/Rathoe), 4 Emma McDonald (O’Toole’s), 5 Muireann O’ Neill (Barrow Valley), 6 Oonagh McFarland (Ballon/Rathoe), 7 Ciara Cahoon (St Patrick’s AC), 8 Lucy Malone (Ballon/Rathoe), 9 Noah Bambrick (Barrow Valley), 10 Kate Comerford (Barrow Valley), 11 Alice Maher (Barrow Valley), 12 Ellie Kirwan (Ardattin), 13 Sophia Kelly (St Patrick’s AC) , 14 Naoise Byrne (Barrow Valley), 15 Ellie O’Neill (Barrow Valley), 16 Lucy Kirwan (Ardattin), 17 Treasa Dermody (Barrow Valley), 18 Ava Boyd (O’Toole’s), 19 Lauren Stanley (Barrow Valley), 20 Lily Mae Byrne (O’Toole’s), 21 Emma Canning (St Patrick’s AC). Team: 1 Ballon/Rathoe, Joint 2nd Barrow Valley, O’Toole’s
Boys U11 1 Mikey Byrne (O’Toole’s), 2 Aaron Meredith (O’Toole’s), 3 Edward Byrne (Ballon/Rathoe), 4 Michael Duke (O’Toole’s), 5 Jack Mahon (O’Toole’s), 6 Cathal Purcell (O’Toole’s), 7 Freddie Gibson (Ballon/Rathoe), 8 Sam Sheehan (Ardattin), 9 Ciaran Donald (Ballon/Rathoe), 10 Charlie Clarke (O’Toole’s), 11 Alan Fitzgerald (Barrow Valley), 12 Charlie Salter (Ballon/Rathoe), 13 Dillon Boyd (O’Toole’s), 14 James Garrigan (O’Toole’s), 15 Kyle Moloney (Ballon/Rathoe), 16 Éanna Dunican (O’Toole’s), 17 Sean óg Dempsey (Ballon/Rathoe), 18 Conor Haskins (Ballon/Rathoe), 19 Tommy Cooney (O’Toole’s), 20 Conor Comerford (Barrow Valley), 21 Robbie Honeyball (Barrow Valley). Team: 1 O’Toole’s, 2 Barrow/Rathoe, 3 O’Toole’s
Girls U11: 1 Aida Bambrick (Barrow Valley), 2 Ruby Gallagher (O’Toole’s), 3 Sheena Myers (St Patricks AC), 4 Lucy Salter (Ballon/Rathoe), 5 Katie Myers (O’Toole’s), 6 Saoirse Byrne (Ardattin), 7 Hannan Moriarty (Barrow Valley), 8 Summer Doorley (O’Toole’s), 9 Siofra Harvey (O’Toole’s), 10 Katie Foley (Barrow Valley), 11 Annie Kavanagh (Ardattin), 12 Lilly McCloud (O’Toole’s), 13 Leeanne Townsend (Ballon/Rathoe), 14 Pippa Blake (Barrow Valley), 15 Lilly Maher (Barrow Valley), 16 Mia Cullen (St Patrick’s AC), 17 Emily Jones (Ardattin), 18 Ella Byrne (Ardattin), 19 Jodie Foley (Barrow Valley), 20 Caoimhe Dempsey (Ballon/Rathoe), 21 Katie Kelly (St Patrick’s AC). Team: 1 O’Toole’s, 2 Barrow Valley), 3 Ardattin
Boys U13 1 Dillon Byrne (Hacketstown), 2 Sean Breen (O’Toole’s), 3 Danny Gibson (Ballon/Rathoe), 4 Mike Geraghty (Barrow Valley), 5 Cathal Moriarty (Barrow Valley), 6 Alfie Gibson (Ballon/Rathoe), 7 Jake Costello (O’Toole’s), 8 Reuben McCarthy (O’Toole’s), 9 Jamie Byrne (Barrow Valley), 10 David Jordan (Barrow Valley). Team 1 O’Toole’s, 2 Barrow Valley
Girls U13 1 Caoimhe Byrne (Ardattin), 2 Lilly Jones (Ardattin), 3 Sophie Myers (O’Toole’s), 4 Clodagh O’Byrne (Ardattin), 5 Emily Lawlor (O’Toole’s), 6 Sammy Salter (Ballon/Rathoe), 7 Chloe Marshall (Barrow Valley), 8 Polly Blake (Barrow Valley), 9 Ella McDonald (Barrow Valley), 10 Millie Cope (O’Toole’s), 11 Katie Geraghty (Barrow Valley). Team: 1 Ardattin, 2 O’Toole’s, 3 Barrow Valley
Boys U15 1 Tighe Hutton (O’Toole’s), 2 Tom Tracey (Ardattin), 3 Sean Corcoran (O’Toole’s) Girls U15 1 Aoife Byrne (O’Toole’s), 2 Roisin Carroll (Ardattin), 3 Ellen Redmond (O’Toole’s), 4 Aishling Byrne (Ardattin)
Girls U17 1 Elsa Doyle (O’Toole’s), 2 Lyndsey Ward (O’Toole’s)
County Novice Men’s: 1 Larry Murphy (Tinryland AC), 2 Niall Harvey (O’Toole’s), 3 Matthew English-Hayden (Ballon/Rathoe), 4 Bill Barry (Bagenalstown AC), 5 Damien Malone (Ballon/Rathoe), 6 Padraic Webb (Tinryland AC), 7 Paddy Doyle (Ballon/Rathoe), 8 David Ashmore (Bagenalstown AC), 9 Richie Harte (O’Toole’s), 10 Tom Cooney (O’Toole’s), 11 Philip Woods (O’Toole’s), 12 Eddie Walsh (Tinryland AC), 13 Jeremiah O’Sullivan (Tinryland AC), 14 Billy Costello (O’Toole’s), 15 Shane O’Rourke (O’Toole’s), 16 Kevin Gibson (Ballon/Rathoe), 17 Stephen Rooney (Ballon/Rathoe). Team 1 Ballon/Rathoe 31 pts, 2 O’Toole’s 32pts, 3 Tinryland AC 32pts
County Novice Women: 1 Catherine Doyle (O’Toole’s), 2 Rosie Conway (Ballon/Rathoe), 3 Catherina Murphy (Barrow Valley), 4 Jane Canavan (Ballon/Rathoe), 5 Laura Doyle (Ballon/Rathoe), 6 Marion Dowling (Ballon/Rathoe), 7 Siobhan Haughney (Ballon/Rathoe), 8 Elaine Townsend (Ballon/Rathoe), 9 Evelyn Byrne (Ballon/Rathoe). Team 1 Ballon/Rathoe

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 59 9170100

More Carlow Sport

Turlough O’Brien to Appeal Suspension

Palatine goals make all the difference

Éire Óg are let off the hook