Wednesday, November 07, 2018

A HUGE crowd gathered at the Talbot Hotel for the third Co Carlow Sports Stars quarterly awards ceremony for 2018 with 15 awards handed out in recognition of fantastic sporting performances by Carlow people over the course of the past three months.
By far the largest group were the Carlow under-16 camogie team who came en masse to celebrate their win in the All-Ireland C camogie championship.
They weren’t the only team honoured on the night with the Carlow Hunt Pony Club dressage team taking home an award after their recent All-Ireland victory.
Equestrian awards also went to Sam Watson who was part of the Irish team who won gold at the world eventing championship, while Jason Foley was recognised for his European U18 show-jumping victory.
In Gaelic games, awards also went to St Mullins hurler Paul Doyle and O’Hanrahan’s footballer Marc Carpenter in recognition of their fine performances for their clubs in recent months. Rachel Sawyer also took home an award for her stellar performances in the colours of the Old Leighlin ladies football team.
Maria Dunne took home the athletics award after winning silver at the world masters athletics championships while MJ Farrell and Richard Kearney were recognised for significant motorsport victories at Mondello in September.
The rugby award went to Anna Doyle who captained the Ireland U18 Sevens team to victory in the Home Nations tournament in July.
Rowing was recognised with awards going to Tom Connors, Olivia Neaves, Sadhbh Scully and Fintan O’Driscoll who each won gold at the national rowing championships in July, while Carlow sailor Finn Lynch was honoured after his recent race win at the laser world championships in Denmark.
The boxing award went to Leinster and Irish champion Shane O’Brien while Jack Dawson, Jamie Walker and Billie Maher took home awards in recognition of their fine gold-medal winning performances at the recent world championships in Portugal.
The next quarterly awards ceremony will take place in January with the overall awards for achievements in 2018 is set to take place in February.

Heidi Sutton (AIB Carlow) presents the athletics award to Maria Dunne

Teresa O’Meara (Co Carlow Sports Partnership) presents the boxing award to Shane O’Brien

Sean Swan (Swan’s Electrical) presents the camogie award to the Carlow U16 All-Ireland winning squad

Teresa O’Meara (Co Carlow Sports Partnership) presents an equestrian award to Jack and Rachel Carr, Ellen Kelly and Holly Malone from Carlow Hunt Pony Club

Michael McAteer (Talbot Hotel) presents an equestrian award to Ger Foley who accepted on behalf of his son, Jason

Eoin Kehoe (Kehoe Auctioneers) presents an equestrian award to Ivan Hatton accepting on behalf of Sam Watson

Bernard Horohan (Tile N Style) presents the Gaelic football award to Linda Carpenter accepting on behalf of her husband, Marc. Also pictured are their daughters Emily and Jane

Eoin Kehoe (Kehoe Auctioneers) presents the ladies football award to Rachel Sawyer

Derek Conry (Carlow Dry Cleaning Company) presents the hurling award to Paul Doyle

Bernard Horohan (Tile N Style) presents the kickboxing award to Jamie Walker, Jack Dawson and Billie Maher

Yvonne Walshe (Fine Framers) presents the motorsport award to MJ Farrell

Heidi Sutton (AIB Carlow) presents a motorsport award to Richard Kearney

Sean Swan (Swan’s Electrical) presents the rowing award to Sadhbh Scully, Olivia Neaves and Tom Connors

Mike Moore (The Nationalist) presents the rugby award to Anna Doyle

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 59 9170100

More Carlow Sport

Turlough O’Brien to Appeal Suspension

Palatine goals make all the difference

Éire Óg are let off the hook