Friday, January 11, 2019

Leinster Seconds League Division 1B

Tullow 30

Carlow 12

In a match played at Black Gates on Sunday prior to the Junior 1 game, Tullow seconds outclassed their Carlow counterparts 30-12. This result has shunted Tullow ahead of Carlow into third place on the table.

Tullow outhalf Paul Canavan opened the scoring with a penalty in the third minute. Playing an expansive game Tullow had first-half tries from full-back Adam Doyle and speedy winger Paul Stephenson. A further penalty plus conversion from Canavan put the home side into an 18-0 lead with 35 minutes gone.

Then it was Carlow’s turn to play to their strengths. Captain Ed Keating, number 8 James Nolan and winger Graham Brennan all made good runs before passing to Joe Gorman who broke through to register Carlow’s first score. This made it 18-5 to the home team at the interval.

The visitors upped their game for the second half and had a lot more territory and possession. Subs including the Slater brothers, Liam and Conal, made a significant impact with Liam getting in for a try.

Full-back Tom Bolger ran strongly through several tackles but lacked support. But Carlow’s lineout malfunctioned badly and was made worse when their tall second rower Anthony Mannion went off injured.

However it was the more clinical home side that again put the most points on the board in the second half. Paul Stephenson ran 40 metres before passing to Fionn Murphy for a touchdown. And almost in the final play of the game the fourth Tullow try was scored by Paddy McCall.

Tullow had strong performances from outhalf Canavan, number 8 John FitzGerald and veteran prop Alan Burns.

Tullow: Adam Doyle, Patrick Tobin, Aidan Murphy, Paul Stephenson, Tom Eustace, Paul Canavan, Bill Eustace, Alan Burns, Cian Doyle, Martin Cole,  Dylan Thomas, Neil Keane, Paddy Dawson, Fionn Murphy, John FitzGerald. Subs: Devin Moran, Paddy McCall. John Bolger, Paddy Kehoe, David Tobin, Shane Brooks

Carlow: Tom Bolger, Cormac Walshe, Simon Walshe, Harry Hennessey,  Graham Brennan, John Whyte, Daniel Nemec, Lorcan Gill, Joseph Gorman, Mark Slye, Anthony Mannion, Fred Leonard,  E Keating, Owen Edgehill, James Nolan. Subs: Conal Slater, Liam Slater, Conor Tully, Dean Hayden, Ian Atkinson

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 59 9170100

More Carlow Sport