Friday, February 01, 2019

Leinster League Division 1B

Tullow 5

Longford 22

By Harry Shorthose

A CRUSHING defeat at Black Gates on Sunday all but ended the promotion hopes of Maurice Logue’s men.

It took the visitors 20 minutes to find a way past the Tullow defence. Longford won a scrum and worked it back to the wing where Conor Seery crashed through two Tullow men to touch down in the left-hand corner. The conversion was sent over from a tricky angle on the touchline.

Tullow did well to win the ball back from the restart and put pressure on but some good defensive work from Longford saw Tullow stopped in their tracks just metres out from the tryline.

They won back the ball and went again but a knock on saw them concede a scrum. Jack McDonald went close too as the ball was slapped down into the dead ball area before he could get to it.

It was all to play for going into the break but Longford crossed for another try. Some good play saw them go through the phases and Joseph McGowan went over in the right-hand corner. The conversion was missed from a difficult angle.

Seven minutes later, they were over again as some good build-up play saw Paul Gallogly find space behind the Tullow defence to go over on the left-hand side. The conversion was short and wide. The bonus point and clincher came just four minutes later.

Some good play saw Longford overturn the ball and run down the left-hand side and move the ball to the right-hand side where they went over. The conversion was again missed.

With six minutes to go, Tullow scored what would turn out to be a consolation try. Some good play saw them get the ball from a scrum and Ryan O’Neill went over in the left-hand corner. The conversion was missed from a tricky angle.

They went again in the last minute and could have had another one as they put on pressure from the lineout, going close before winning a five-metre scrum from an advantage.

Try as they might, they just could not find that little bit extra and they were held up right on the tryline.

Tullow: Paul Stephenson, Phillip Deane, Shane Rohan, Keiatho Bloomfield, Ryan O’Neill, William Canavan, Dylan Leybourne; Scott Caldbeck, Sam Corrigan, Louis Kilcoyne, Jack McDonald, Joe Waters, Kyle Hanbidge, James O’Brien, John Hanbidge. Subs: Aaron O’Byrne, Jordan Leybourne, Tom Cashen, Richard Nicholls, Adam Doyle.

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 59 9170100

More Carlow Sport

Rathvilly make easy progress