Friday, March 29, 2019

Leinster’s Sean O’Brien


Sean O’Brien will start in the back row for Leinster when they take on Ulster in their crunch Heineken Champions Cup quarter-final at the Aviva Stadium tomorrow (5.45pm).

The Tullow Tank will play on the openside in front of a sell-out crowd for what should be a tasty clash of the Irish provinces.

Carlow’s Ed Byrne has been named on the bench and the prop will also play a big part in the day’s action.

It has been confirmed that Johnny Sexton will play no part in the game after failing to recover from injury.

Jordan Larmour starts at full back with Adam Byrne and Dave Kearney on the wings.

Rory O’Loughlin and Garry Ringrose are the centre partnership with Luke McGrath and Ross Byrne named in the half backs.

In the pack Cian Healy, Seán Cronin and Tadhg Furlong are selected in the front row with Scott Fardy and James Ryan behind them in the second row.

Rhys Ruddock captains the side from blindside flanker, with O’Brien at openside and Jack Conan completing the pack at the base of the scrum.

On the bench Mick Kearney is in line to play his 50th game for the province for what might be his first game in the Champions Cup this season.

Andrew Porter is also in line to win his 50th cap from the bench.

Leinster (caps in brackets): Jordan Larmour (33), Adam Byrne (50), Garry Ringrose (60), Rory O’Loughlin (58), Dave Kearney (132), Ross Byrne (65), Luke McGrath (107); Cian Healy (202), Seán Cronin (167), Tadhg Furlong (96), Scott Fardy (38), James Ryan (26), Rhys Ruddock (captain, 157), Seán O’Brien (122), Jack Conan (84). Subs: James Tracy (87), Ed Byrne (39), Andrew Porter (49), Mick Kearney (49), Dan Leavy (62), Jamison Gibson-Park (68), Noel Reid (118), Rob Kearney (205)

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 59 9170100

More Carlow Sport

Minors deservedly win Leinster shield

Carlow denied Leinster title yet again