Friday, April 12, 2019


Sean O’Brien will captain the Leinster team when they take on Glasgow Warriors in Saturday’s Guinness PRO14 clash at the RDS (3pm).

The Tullow Tank will start alongside the relatively inexperienced Josh Murphy and Caelan Doris in the back row.

Sean O’Brien will start at number seven

In the back three, Rob Kearney is joined by Jordan Larmour and Dave Kearney, with the returning Robbie Henshaw paired with Joe Tomane in the centre. Jamison Gibson-Park and Ross Byrne are the half backs.

Carlow’s Ed Byrne starts in the front row alongside James Tracy and Michael Bent with Devin Toner back from injury to take his place in the second row alongside Academy forward Jack Dunne. It will be a first Leinster start for 20-year-old Dunne.

On the bench there is the potential for a seasonal debut for Will Connors. Should he come on he will become the 56th player used by head coach Leo Cullen this season.

Leinster (caps in brackets): Rob Kearney (206); Jordan Larmour (34), Joe Tomane (11), Robbie Henshaw (32), Dave Kearney (133); Ross Byrne (66), Jamison Gibson-Park (69); Ed Byrne (41), James Tracy (89), Michael Bent (120), Devin Toner (227), Jack Dunne (4), Josh Murphy (19), Seán O’Brien (123), Caelan Doris (13). Subs: Seán Cronin (168), Cian Healy (203), Tadhg Furlong (97), Will Connors (3), Max Deegan (40), Hugh O’Sullivan (12), Ciarán Frawley (12), Adam Byrne (51)

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 59 9170100

More Carlow Sport

A proud racing tradition with deep roots