Thursday, August 01, 2019

THE future of Carlow camogie is certainly bright given the performance of the county under-15 development squad at the All Ireland Under-15 Championship Blitz on Sunday at Naomh Olaf, Dublin.

This latest victory sees Carlow retain the All Ireland Under-15 title won last year.

Carlow had two round-robin fixtures during the morning against Kildare and Clare which they won in great style which brought them through to the  semi-final against Meath.

Having lost to the Royal county the previous weekend in the Leinster Blitz, the girls where determined to reverse the result. The game was evenly contested all through and it was score for score until two minutes to full time when Carlow got a goal to give them the edge. They defended heroically for the dying minutes and held on for a three-point victory against a powerful Meath side.

Offaly were the opposition in the final and a blistering opening 10 minutes saw Carlow score four top-class goals to which Offaly had simply no reply to the skill, work rate, team work and intensity that Carlow brought to the game.

Carlow won the game 4-6 to 0-3.

It was a great day of camogie played by the entire panel of 19 players available on the day. Their work rate, skill level, drive and commitment to the Carlow jersey sets them out as a special group under the management of Pat English, Michael O’Brien and Jenny English.

The team received great support on the day from a large contingent of parents who were all very proud at the end.

Panel: Emma Power (Muinebheag), Moya Jordan (Ballinkillen), Tara O’Byrne (Naomh Brid), Ella O’Neill (St Mullins), Hazel Doran (Naomh Brid), Emma Drea (Naomh Brid), Niamh Minchin (Muinebheag), Rhiannon Kenny (Myshall), Rebecca Kelly (Muinebheag), Caoimhe Jordan (Myshall), Anna Murphy (St Mullins), Sarah Cox (Kildavin Clonegal), Geri Mae Murphy Mara (Mount Leinster Rangers), Kim Doyle (Myshall), Jenny Sawyer (Naomh Brid), Ebony Darcy (Muinebheag), Leanne Carroll (Muinebheag), Emer O’Hanlon (Setanta), Nicola Nolan (Ballinkillen). Other members of panel not available on day: Aine Irwin (Naomh Brid), Olywn Lawler (Naomh Brid), Niamh Gray (Setanta)

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 59 9170100

More Carlow Sport

Broderick says a good start is vital