Thursday, August 01, 2019

All-Ireland Under-16 B Championship

Carlow 3-15

Westmeath 0-4

CARLOW marched into the All-Ireland Under-16 B Championship semi-final in convincing fashion with victory over Westmeath at JJ Hogan Memorial Park, Fenagh on Saturday.

From start to finish Carlow were in control of this game and managed to hold Westmeath scoreless from play with excellent defending from all six defenders along with the astute Sarah Jane Doran in goal.

Caoimhe Jordan opened the Carlow score sheet with a point from play before Rhiannon Kenny raised the first of three green flags for the home side. Caoimhe Jordan rattled the net soon after before Geri Mae Murphy Mara adding a third goal after great work up front involved the all action Rachel O’Brien.

Rebecca Kelly from well past the 45 metre line also hit an excellent long-range point which raised a great cheer from the local support.  Carlow lead at the interval 3-9 to 0-3 with Ellen Shaw scoring three pointed frees for the Lakeside county.

Carlow introduced Caoimhe Coady who was nursing an injury from during the week at half time and she slotted over five points in the second half. Westmeath to their credit never gave up against the strength in depth of this Carlow side who advance to the All-Ireland semi-final on Sunday 11 August with Waterford the more likely opposition.

CARLOW: Sarah Jane Doran (Myshall), Moya Jordan (Ballinkillen), Chloe Cody (Muinebheag), Muireann English (Ballinkillen), Niamh Minchin (Muinebheag), Rebecca Sheehan (Ballinkillen), Megan Conran (Naomh Brid), Rebecca Kelly (Muinebheag) 0-4, Aibha Kiernan (Barren Rangers), Rhiannon Kenny (Myshall) 1-0, Caoimhe Jordan (Myshall) 1-2, Rachel O’Brien (Ballinkillen) 0-1, Orla Deacon (Burren Rangers), Caoimhe Coady (St Mullins) 0-5, Kim Doyle (Myshall) 0-1, Geri Mae Murphy Mara 1-2, Laura Cummins (Ballinkillen), Anna Murphy (St Mullins), Tegan Wall (Ballinkillen), Sarah Cox (Kildavin Clonegal), Ellie Cody (Muinebheag), Olwyn Lawler (Naomh Brid), Marie O’Neill (Burren Rangers), Ava Murphy (Naomh Brid), Aoibhe Connolly (Burren Rangers), Orla Nolan (Ballinkillen), Tara O’Byrne (Naomh Brid), Emma Drea (Naomh Brid), Aine Irwin (Naomh Brid), Ella O’Neill (St Mullins), Hazel Doran (Naomh Brid), Michaela Donoghue (Myshall), Emer O’Hanlon (Setanta), Anna Nolan (Myshall)

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 59 9170100

More Carlow Sport

Broderick says a good start is vital