Wednesday, October 09, 2019

Éire Óg 1-10

St Patrick’s 0-8

By Kieran Murphy

ÉIRE Óg are the under-15 football champions for 2019. At Netwatch Cullen Park last Tuesday they edged out a luckless St Patrick’s side for whom nothing went right.

With 42 frees awarded over the hour, this was a stop-start affair. Points from Ronan Quinlan and Pa Kavanagh in the first nine minutes eased Éire Óg ahead. St Patrick’s hit back with points from Ronan Healy and Cian Gorman-Comerford. In a nine-minute spell before the interval Quinlan posted two more points and Eoin Dempsey replied with a converted free for St Patrick’s who trailed 0-4 to 0-3 at the break.

The Slaneysiders lost a player to a black card in the half and nine minutes into the second period were reduced to 14 when they had another player red-carded. At that stage Éire Óg had taken a grip on proceedings. Two minutes  into the second half, Jack Feehan found the bottom left-hand corner of the net at the scoreboard end of the ground.

The Reds were unable to overrun the 14 players who dug deep. Central St Patrick’s defenders Ben Butler and Adam Johnson led a strong unit who gave nothing away.

The Tullow side enjoyed a strong start to the final quarter when Dempsey scored a point and could well have goaled as Tadgh Foley shot over the bar to leave only two in it.

Éire Óg reasserted themselves with Lee Carpenter restoring their three-point lead. Kavanagh also landed two points and Quinlan converted a free.

They settled for what they had after that playing keep ball and making sure a never-say-die St Patrick’s side were limited to half-chances.  As the game drew to a close Gorman-Comerford converted a free for St Patrick’s.

Éire Óg: Sean Murphy; Robbie Dowling-Brennan, Daniel Rossiter, Luke Murphy; Adam Shaw, Kieran Nolan, Lee Carpenter (0-1); Kyle Nolan, Cillian McGrath; Tom Behan, Pa Kavanagh (0-3), Jack Murphy; Ronan Quinlan (0-5, 0-4 frees), Jack Feehan (1-0), Liam Ryan (0-1). Subs: Cialan Brady for Ryan (45 mins), Aaron Bolger for Dowling-Brennan (48 mins), Alex Delaney for Behan (61 mins).

St Patrick’s: Mark McDermott; Patrick Doyle, Ben Butler, Oran Black; Ronan Healy (0-1), Adam Johnson, Mubatsire Mudawapi; Cian Doran, Eoin Dempsey (0-3, 0-2 frees); Cillian O’Neill, Cian Gorman-Comerford (0-2 frees), Thomas Monaghan; Shane Maxwell, Tadgh Foley (0-2), Cathal Healy. Subs: Jack Rodgers for Doran (black card 23 mins), Oisin Lyons for Monaghan (44 mins), Bartek Pyz.

Referee: Brian Deering (Rathvilly).

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 59 9170100

More Carlow Sport

Carlow’s Dual Operators: The Full List!

Carlow’s best ever dual players