Friday, April 23, 2021

CARLOW’S Ed Byrne has been named in the starting for Leinster for the opening round of the Guinness PRO14 Rainbow Cup against Munster Rugby in the RDS Arena tomorrow (KO 7.35pm, live on Eir Sport & RTÉ Radio).

Head Coach Leo Cullen, with an eye on the European Cup semi-final against La Rochelle next week, rests a number of his established starting XV and Byrne comes into the number one jersey in place of Cian Healy.

Ed Byrne starts for Leinster against Munster tomorrow
Photo: ©INPHO/Billy Stickland

Elsewhere, there is a welcome return from injury for a number of players, with Garry Ringrose one of those returning after an ankle injury and he will captain the team.

Jordan Larmour is selected at full back, with Dave Kearney on the right wing and James Lowe on the left.

In the centre Rory O’Loughlin moves to the number 12 jersey, with Ringrose as captain outside him.

In the half backs, Hugh O’Sullivan starts at scrumhalf with Harry Byrne at outhalf.

In the pack Byrne is joined Dan Sheehan and Andrew Porter in the front row for Cullen’s side, with Ross Molony and Ryan Baird in the second row.

Finally the back row sees Josh Murphy and Scott Penny on the flanks with Penny back from a hand injury and the fit again Caelan Doris at number eight.

On the bench there is a welcome return from injury also for James Ryan and Tommy O’Brien while former St. Gerard’s School pupil and Academy scrumhalf Cormac Foley is in line to make his debut and become the 58th player to represent the club this season.

The 21-year-old from Newtownmountkennedy plays his club rugby with Lansdowne FC and is studying Economics and Finance in UCD.

Leinster Rugby (caps in brackets):

15. Jordan Larmour (56)
14. Dave Kearney (166)
13. Garry Ringrose (80) CAPTAIN
12. Rory O’Loughlin (81)
11. James Lowe (50)
10. Harry Byrne (22)
9. Hugh O’Sullivan (29)
1. Ed Byrne (66)  
2. Dan Sheehan (10)
3. Andrew Porter (73)
4. Ross Molony (113)
5. Ryan Baird (21)
6. Josh Murphy (45)
7. Scott Penny (25)
8. Caelan Doris (37)

16. Seán Cronin (193)
17. Peter Dooley (90)
18. Michael Bent (155)
19. James Ryan (45)
20. Scott Fardy (76)
21. Cormac Foley (0)
22. Ciarán Frawley (34)
23. Tommy O’Brien (7)

Referee: Chris Busby (IRFU)

Meanwhile, Tom Daly starts for Connacht tonight wearing the 12 jersey against Ulster in Kingspan Park at 8.15pm.

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 59 9170100

More Carlow Sport

Injury to Whelan overshadows Carlow win

Similar Articles

Carlow Sport Star Awards – Ed Byrne

Byrne returns to Leinster starting XV