Friday, August 27, 2021

Leinster Rugby head coach Phil de Barra has named his squad, as sponsored by Bank of Ireland, to face Connacht in the first round of this year’s Vodafone Women’s Interprovincial Series on Saturday (KO 2.45pm).

Pictures at the 2021 Vodafone Women’s Interprovincial Rugby Championship Launch at Energia Park in Donnybrook were Connacht’s Mary Healy and Leinster’s Christy Haney. Vodafone’s support of women’s rugby is part of a wider series of initiatives to challenge gender inequality by supporting women through the different stages and experiences of their lives. Vodafone is proud to support men’s rugby, women’s rugby, and the game of rugby at all levels.
Photo: ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

Without the opportunity to call upon the contingent who will be featuring for Ireland in the upcoming international window, it’s a new-look side for Leinster from the one that played the same opposition in their last interprovincial outing back in 2019.

Newly-named captain Christy Haney will line out at loosehead, joining Lisa Callan and Caoimhe Molloy in the front row.

Old Belvedere RFC duo Elaine Anthony and Clodagh Dunne pack down in the second row with two more clubmates Jennie Finlay and No 8 Jenny Murphy making up the back row with Blackrock College’s Ali Coleman.

Scrum half Molly Scuffil McCabe partners Aine Donnelly in the half-backs.

Michelle Claffey, one of two vice-captains named for the season, lines out in midfield with Niamh Byrne.

The back three is then comprised of Meabh O’Brien on the left and Grace Miller on the right with Lauren Farrell McCabe acting as the last line.

The uncapped quartet of Mary Healy, Emma Murphy, Ella Roberts and Ailbhe Dowling will be hoping to get their first Leinster appearances from the bench where they’re joined by Chloe Blackmore, Vic O’Mahony, Mairead Holohan and Nikki Caughey.

Leinster Rugby team v Connacht Rugby:

15. Lauren Farrell McCabe (Suttonians RFC)
14. Grace Miller (Old Belvedere RFC)
13. Michelle Claffey (Blackrock College RFC) VICE-CAPTAIN
12. Niamh Byrne (Railway Union RFC)
11. Meabh O’Brien (Suttonians RFC)
10. Aine Donnelly (Old Belvedere RFC)
9. Molly Scuffil McCabe (Railway Union RFC)

1. Christy Haney (Blackrock College RFC) CAPTAIN
2. Lisa Callan (Railway Union RFC)
3. Caoimhe Molloy (Blackrock College RFC)
4. Elaine Anthony (Old Belvedere RFC)
5. Clodagh Dunne (Old Belvedere RFC)
6. Ali Coleman (Blackrock College RFC)
7. Jennie Finlay (Old Belvedere RFC)
8. Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere RFC)


16. Chloe Blackmore (Railway Union RFC)
17. Vic O’Mahony (Old Belvedere RFC)
18. Mary Healy* (Naas RFC)
19. Mairead Holohan (Blackrock RFC)
20. Emma Murphy* (Railway Union RFC)
21. Ella Roberts* (Wicklow RFC)
22. Nikki Caughey (Railway Union RFC) VICE-CAPTAIN
23. Ailbhe Dowling* (Old Belvedere RFC)

*Uncapped at this level

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 59 9170100

More Carlow Sport

Carlow teen selected for Irish soccer squad

Football Championships get underway