Monday, September 20, 2021


Mount Leinster Rangers saw off rivals St Mullins to lift their second successive Carlow SHC title, their fourth in five years and their tenth title overall on Sunday afternoon in Netwatch Cullen Park.

The Nolan brothers, Chris and Jon, were superb throughout but especially in the first half when they both scored five points, one effort from Jon while on his knees a particular highlight.

Rangers scored 17 points in that first half, all from play and there was little that St Mullins were able to muster in response, the score at half-time was 0-17 to 0-7.

There was never any real sense that St Mullins would be able to significantly close the gap in the second half and Rangers could even afford for Diarmuid Byrne to miss a late penalty without it having a major impact on the result.

Make sure to check out this week’s paper for extensive coverage of this game, and also the Intermediate and Junior Hurling Championship finals as well.

Mount Leinster Rangers: Dean Grennan; Gary Kelly, David Phelan, Michael Doyle; Gary Lawlor (0-01), Diarmuid Byrne, Richard Kelly; Paul Coady, Fiachra Fitzpatrick (0-02); Tony Lawlor, Eddie Byrne (0-04), Kevin McDonald (0-01); Denis Murphy (0-04 1f), Chris Nolan (0-07), Jon Nolan (0-05).

Subs: Ted Joyce for R. Kelly (46), Ciaran Kavanagh for T. Lawlor (52), Jack Ryan for G. Lawlor (57), Richard Coady for Coady (59), Darragh O’Toole for J. Nolan (61)

St Mullins: Kevin Kehoe; Gary Bennett, Paul Doyle, Cathal Connolly; Michael Walsh, Ger Coady, Paidi O’Shea (0-02); Paudie Kehoe, Oisin Boland; James Doyle (0-01), John Doran, Jack Kavanagh (0-1); Oisin Ryan (0-02), Marty Kavanagh (0-08 4f), Paddy Boland.

Subs: Conor Kehoe (0-1) for Doran (21), Jason O’Neill (0-1) for O. Boland (h/t), Seamus Murphy for P. Boland (36), Patrick Walsh for J. Kavanagh (55).

Referee: John Hickey (Fenagh).

Mount Leinster Ranger’s captain Micheal Doyle Lifts the trophy
Photo: ©INPHO/Evan Treacy

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 59 9170100

More Carlow Sport

Similar Articles

St Mullins lift 28th senior title

The final that never was