Friday, October 22, 2021



By Kieran Murphy

MOUNT Leinster Rangers won the Under 13 Hurling B Final at Netwatch Cullen Park on Sunday. After absorbing early Ballinkillen pressure the winners struck for three goals in succession from Thomas Buckley, Jake Fitzpatrick and Conor Walsh. Full back, Adam Joyce, scored a point from a free and from play to maintain the pressure on their opponents.

Joint Mount Leinster Rangers captains Noel Jorden and Tom Kehoe celebrate after their U13 B final win over Ballinkillen
Photos: Thomas Nolan Photography

Ballinkillen were eventually rewarded for their endeavour. It was coming. Initially, Rangers keeper did well to deflect a lobbing ball around his left hand post at the O’Hanrahan end of the ground. He could do little when Ballinkillen raided down the left and when the ball broke into space in front of goal Noah Murphy tipped it over the line. At half-time Rangers led 3-2 to 1-0.

Thomas Sheehan picked off an early second half Ballinkillen free. They needed to win the puck-out but Rangers took possession and when the ball came in high and long Conor Walsh was on hand to score his second goal. The half continued in a trend for much of what had gone on before with Rangers making best use of their possession.

Mount Leinster Rangers’ Tom Kehoe clears under pressure from Ballinkillen’s Jaden Treacy

Ballinkillen had plenty of the ball, hurled well at times but Rangers knew where the posts were. Joyce and Tom Kehoe raised white flags for the eventual winners which left twelve points between the teams.

Ballinkillen’s Ben Kelly and Mount Lenister Rangers’ hat-trick hero Conor Walsh closes in

As the minutes ticked by Darragh Coleman accounted for a Rangers point with a fine strike from out the field. Joyce squeezed his shot past a luckless Jim Hughes for another three-pointer. Ballinkillen never stopped running. Their reward was a rocket of a goal from Thomas Sheehan. With the last play of the game Conor Walsh was on hand to score Ranger’s sixth in a good sporting game.

Ballinkillen U13 hurling team.

Mount Leinster Rangers celebrate their win

MOUNT LEINSTER RANGERS: Shane Jordan; Patrick O’Brien, Adam Joyce (1-4 3fs), PJ Doyle; Toby Joyce, Conor Hickey, Darragh Coleman (0-1); Tom Kehoe (0-1), Eoin Condren; Thomas Buckley (1-0), Noel Jordan, Jake Fitzpatrick (1-0); Joey White, Conor Walsh (3-0), Evan Savage Kelly. Subs: Aaron Doyle, Dara Coady, Michael Murphy.

BALLINKILLEN: Jim Hughes; Kian Minchin, Ben Kelly, Callum Jordan; Evan Kavanagh, Dara Nolan, Jaden Treacy; AJ Dooley, Stephen Jones; Eoghan Murphy, Thomas Sheehan (1-1), Joe Byrne; Tadgh Doyle, Zack O’Hara, Louis Hughes. Subs: Dillon Murphy, Noah Murphy (1-0), Jason Salter, Fionn Corcoran.

REFEREE: Shane Foley (St Mullins).

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 59 9170100

More Carlow Sport

Kehoe ready to complete Italian job

Similar Articles