Thursday, November 25, 2021

BOTH the Carlow football and hurling teams will begin their 2022 seasons with games against Kildare after the fixtures for the pre-season competitions were confirmed today.

Niall Carew’s football team have been placed in a three team group with his native Kildare and Westmeath. Carlow begin their O’Byrne Cup with a home midweek tie against Kildare on 12 January and then travel to face Westmeath on the following Saturday. If Carlow win the group they will progress to a semi-final.

In the Kehoe Cup, Tom Mullally’s hurlers begin on Sunday 16 January at home to Kildare.

John Michael Nolan in action for Carlow against Kildare in last year’s McDonagh Cup
Photo: Sean Brilly

Carlow then play Meath away on 23 January and complete their group at home to Joe McDonagh Cup champions Westmeath on 30 January. The winners of the group shall be declared champions.

Both squads will be able to return to the training from 8 December.


Draws, Dates & Venues for the Pre-Season Tournaments 2022.


O’Byrne Cup S.F. 

Group A                   Group B           Group C 

Dublin                       Meath                Kildare

Louth                        Wicklow             Carlow

Offaly                        Wexford            Westmeath

Longford                   Laois


Round 1 -Saturday, 8th January 2022             Home Venue 

Group A Longford v Louth 2.00pm Longford
  Offaly v Dublin 2.00pm Offaly
Group B Wicklow v Meath 2.00pm Wicklow
  Wexford v Laois 2.00pm Wexford
Group C Kildare v Westmeath 2.00pm Kildare


Round 2 -Wednesday, 12th January 2022 

Group A Dublin v Louth 7.30pm Dublin
  Offaly v Longford 7.30pm Offaly
Group B Wicklow v Wexford 7.30pm Wicklow
  Laois v Meath 7.30pm Laois
Group C Carlow v Kildare 7.30pm Carlow


Round 3 -Saturday, 15th January 2022**

Group A Longford v Dublin TBC Longford
  Louth v Offaly TBC Louth
Group B Laois v Wicklow TBC Laois
  Meath v Wexford TBC Meath
Group C Westmeath v Carlow TBC Westmeath


Semi-Final – Wed, 19th Jan 2022 @ 7.30pm – Winner Group B v Winner Group C


Final – Sat, 22nd Jan 2022 – Winner S-Final v Winner Group A


**       Leinster Convention is Saturday, January 15th (11.00am to 1.00pm).  Counties to agree the time for their respective game(s) on the Saturday or agree to play on the Sunday, Jan, 16th 2022.


Walsh Cup S.H. 

Group A                  Group B                     

Antrim                      Kilkenny

Dublin                      Laois

Offaly                       Wexford



Round 1 -Sunday, 9th January 2022                Home Venue 

Group A Dublin v Antrim 2.00pm Dublin
  Galway v Offaly 2.00pm Ballinasloe
Group B Laois v Wexford 2.00pm Laois
  Kilkenny v Bye    


Round 2 -Sunday, 16th January 2022 

Group A Dublin v Galway 2.00pm Dublin
  Offaly v Antrim 2.00pm Offaly
Group B Kilkenny v Laois 2.00pm Kilkenny
  Wexford   Bye    


Round 3 -Sunday, 23rd  January 2022 

Group A Antrim v Galway 2.00pm Abbottstown
  Offaly v Dublin 2.00pm Offaly
Group B Wexford v Kilkenny 2.00pm Wexford
  Laois   Bye    


Final – Sunday, 30th January 2022 – Winner Group B v Winner Group A


Kehoe Cup S.H. 

Teams: Carlow, Kildare, Meath & Westmeath.


RD 1 -Sunday, 16th January 2022               Home Venue 

Carlow v Kildare 2.00pm Carlow
Meath v Westmeath 2.00pm Meath


RD 2 -Sunday, 23rd January 2022 

Meath v Carlow 2.00pm Meath
Westmeath v Kildare 2.00pm Westmeath


RD 3 -Sunday, 30th January 2022 

Carlow v Westmeath 2.00pm Carlow
Kildare v Meath 2.00pm Kildare

Winners – Team Top of the Table


Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 59 9170100

More Carlow Sport

Similar Articles

Tailteann Cup draw details confirmed