Friday, September 16, 2022

TOM Daly will start for Connacht at centre in tomorrow’s BKT URC opener against Ulster at Kingspan Stadium (k/o 7.35pm).

Daly starts in midfield alongside fellow Tom, Farrell, as they resume a partnership that has worked very well in the past.

Tom Daly will start at centre for Connacht in their first game of the season against Ulster
Photo: ©INPHO/James Crombie

Gavin Thornbury will captain Connacht for the first time in his 64th appearance for the province in a squad that includes three debutants and a possible two more off the bench.

Peter Dooley, Josh Murphy and Byron Ralston have all been handed their first Connacht cap, with Shamus Hurley-Langton and David Hawkshaw also potential debutants off the bench.

Dooley is named in a front row with Jack Aungier and hooker Dave Heffernan, while Leva Fifita partners Thornbury in the second row. The pack is completed by flanker Conor Oliver and number 8 Paul Boyle.

Kieran Marmion and Conor Fitzgerald are paired together at 9 and 10. Ralston’s first game will be on the right wing, with John Porch on the opposite wing and Tiernan O’Halloran at full-back.

Commenting on the team announcement, Director of Rugby Andy Friend says:

“We’ve had a very positive pre-season and there’s now a huge sense of excitement among the group. There’s a genuine belief and optimism about what we can achieve in this first block of games, which all starts in Belfast tomorrow night.

Ulster are a quality side and our battles against them are always hard fought. We’re really looking forward going head-to-head with them in what should be a great season opener for us both.”



Saturday 17th September 2022, 19:35 @ Kingspan Stadium


Number/Name/Caps ( * denotes uncapped)

  1. Tiernan O’Halloran (206)
  2. Byron Ralston *
  3. Tom Farrell (79)
  4. Tom Daly (61)
  5. John Porch (59)
  6. Conor Fitzgerald (53)
  7. Kieran Marmion (209)
  8. Peter Dooley *
  9. Dave Heffernan (165)
  10. Jack Aungier (31)
  11. Gavin Thornbury (63) (C)
  12. Leva Fifita (15)
  13. Josh Murphy *
  14. Conor Oliver (41)
  15. Paul Boyle (73)


  1. Dylan Tierney-Martin (6)
  2. Denis Buckley (208)
  3. Sam Illo (2)
  4. Niall Murray (35)
  5. Shamus Hurley-Langton *
  6. Caolin Blade (150)
  7. David Hawkshaw *
  8. Oran McNulty (9)

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 59 9170100

More Carlow Sport

Similar Articles