Tuesday, September 27, 2022

At the presentation of the awards, pictured l-r, Barry Deane, Roisin Dowd Smith, Adrian Smyth (NFGWS), Eugene Cummins (Roscommon CoCo), Gail Fitzgerald (Ballinabranna GWS manager), Donal Cronin, Joanne Walsh (DHLGH), Michelle Minihan (EPA).

BALLINABRANNA Water Co-Operative Society was recognised for ensuring a quality water supply in its area when it was named as an overall category winner in the 2022 Group Water Scheme Excellence Awards.

The Ballinabranna Group Water Scheme (GWS) was revealed as the overall category winner for ‘Water safety planning and quality assurance implementation’ by minister for housing Darragh O’Brien in a special video announcement at this year’s Rural Water Services Conference.

Organised by the National Federation of Group Water Schemes, the annual awards recognise the hard work and initiative shown by group water schemes across the country.

Entries had been invited across four categories and presided over by an independent, expert judging panel. Group water schemes that achieved a required standard within their respective categories were awarded an excellence flag and commemorative plaque, with an overall winner in each category receiving a special trophy.

In recent times, the Carlow group water scheme has identified and managed risks across critical control points, invested in technology to assist with ensuring a quality water supply is provided to members, engaged with the community and local primary schools and began preparation for compliance with upcoming drinking water regulations.

Reacting to the news, John Alcock, chairperson of Ballinabranna Water Co-Operative Society, said: “Our group water scheme was delighted to achieve this award in acknowledgement of the work done on a daily basis to ensure quality water is provided to all our members.”

Speaking during the announcement, minister O’Brien said: “These proudly-flown excellence flags will serve as a great beacon to your local community of your scheme’s achievements and quality ongoing service. Congratulations to each of the category winners; you have shown fantastic vision and leadership and you should be hugely proud of this accolade.”


Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 59 9170100

More Carlow News