Friday, January 06, 2023

FORMER Tullow RFC duo Dannah O’Brien and Anna Doyle have been named on the Leinster Rugby Women’s team, proudly sponsored by Bank of Ireland, to take on Connacht in the opening weekend of the Vodafone Women’s Interprovincial Championship, on Saturday afternoon in Energia Park, has been named by Tania Rosser (KO: 2.30pm – live on TG4).

Doyle is named in the team after playing a starring role for Blackrock College as they won their first Energia All-Ireland League Women’s Division 1 title since 2008 the week before Christmas.

Anna Doyle in action for Blackrock College in the Energia All-Ireland Women’s League Division 1 Final at, Energia Park last month Photo:  ©INPHO/Lorraine O’Sullivan

The squad sees a mix of experienced and new players, with ten players on to receive their first cap for Leinster, including Ireland internationals O’Brien and Aoife Dalton.

Prop Christy Haney and number 8 Hannah O’Connor co-captain the team.

Tickets for the game are still on sale here, for Leinster’s only home game of the Championship.

Leinster Rugby:
15. Ella Roberts – Wicklow RFC
14. Clare Gorman* – Old Belvedere RFC
13. Aoife Dalton* – Tullamore RFC/Old Belvedere RFC
12. Jenny Murphy – Old Belvedere RFC
11. Anna Doyle – Tullow RFC/Blackrock College RFC
10. Dannah O’Brien* – Tullow RFC/Old Belvedere RFC
9. Ailsa Hughes – Tullamore RFC/Railway Union RFC
1. Niamh O’Dowd* – Old Belvedere RFC
2. Jess Keating* – Old Belvedere RFC
3. Christy Haney – St Mary’s College RFC/Blackrock College RFC (CAPTAIN)
4. Aoife McDermott – Railway Union RFC
5. Eimear Corri – Portlaoise RFC/Blackrock College RFC
6. Ali Coleman – Blackrock College RFC
7. Molly Boyne* – DUFC/Railway Union RFC
8. Hannah O’Connor – CYM RFC/Blackrock College RFC (CAPTAIN)

16. Lisa Callan – Railway Union RFC
17. Megan Collis* – Greystones RFC/Railway Union RFC
18. Aoife Moore* – Blackrock College RFC
19. Elaine Anthony – Old Belvedere RFC
20. Katie Whelan* – Enniscorthy RFC/Old Belvedere RFC
21. Lisa Mullen* – Virginia RFC/Blackrock College RFC
22. Elise O’Byrne-Whyte – DUFC/Old Belvedere RFC
23. Molly Scuffil-McCabe – Garda Westmanstown RFC/Railway Union RFC

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 59 9170100

More Carlow Sport

Carlow win Gaynor Cup!

Similar Articles

O’Brien keeps place in Ireland team

O’Brien named on Combined Provinces team