Wednesday, January 25, 2023



SETU Carlow bowed meekly out of the Sigerson Cup on Tuesday evening after a second half goal glut from home side University of Limerick.

The warning signs were there for Carlow as early as the second minute when only a brilliant block by Josh Moore prevented Aaron Griffin from scoring an early goal.

Goalkeeper Matthew Byron went on to make two excellent saves in the first half to keep out shots from Ciaran Downes and Mark Lenehan but the half ended with Limerick comfortably ahead by 0-6x to 0-2 by the break.

The goals flowed in the second half as the Carlow defence was breeched time and time again.

Griffin scored in the 34th minute and then hit the net twice to finish the game as a contest.

Limerick man Tommy Griffin scrambled home a goal for in response but the home team cruised into the quarter-finals as Sean McDonnell scored their fourth goal with ten minutes to go.

Colm Hulton scored three points for Carlow, including the last, and Carlow’s best, of the game.

Colm Hulton scored three points for SETU Carlow in their Sigerson Cup defeat away to University of Limerick
Photo: ©INPHO/Evan Treacy



University of Limerick: C Downes 2-1; E McMahon 0-5 (1f); A Griffin 1-0; S McDonnell 1-0; P Keaney 0-2 (1f, 1 ’45); M Lenehan, J Hayes 0-1each.

SETU Carlow: C Hulton 0-3; T Griffin 1-0; C Farrell 0-1 (45).


UNIVERSITY OF LIMERICK: Conor Flaherty; Colm Moriarty, Mark Dempsey, Donal Casey; Darragh Cashman, Daniel Walsh, Eoghan McLaughlin; Brian McNamara, Paul Keaney; Ciaran Downes, Emmet McMahon, Mark Lenehan; Paul Walsh, Jack Coyne, Aaron Griffin. Subs: Sean McDonnell for P Walsh (HT); John Hayes for McLaughlin (41), Cian Glennon for Keaney (41), Oisin Looney for Downes (47), Jack O’Brien for Coyne (48).

SETU CARLOW: Matthew Byron (Courtwood, Laois); Padraig O’Shea (Liscarrol/Churchtown Gael, Cork), Jack Donohue (Bannow Ballymitty, Wexford), Paraic Deering (Rathvilly, Carlow); Cian Maher (Carrickmacross Emmets, Monaghan), Eoin Murtagh (Dunlavin, Wicklow), Conor Doyle (Rathvilly, Carlow); Eoin Hackett (St Fechins, Louths), Darren McDermott (Leixlip, Kildare); Josh Moore (Rathvilly, Carlow), Cian Farrell (Edenderry, Offaly), Sean Cassidy (Sean O’Mahony’s, Louth); Peter O’Driscoll, Colm Hulton (Éire Óg, Carlow), Tommy Griffin (Gerald Griffin’s, Limerick). Subs: Adam Steed (St Laurences, Kildare) for Cassidy (HT), Michael Lynam (St Josephs, Westmeath) for Maher (HT), Olin Barry (Carrigaline, Cork) for O’Shea (inj – 35), Maher for Donohue (35), Sam Hallahan (Ballinameela, Waterford) for O’Driscoll (53)

REFEREE – Chris Maguire (Clare)


Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 59 9170100

More Carlow Sport

Carlow win Gaynor Cup!

Similar Articles

Battle of the brothers ends all square