Thursday, March 02, 2023

South Leinster Senior Football ‘A’ League Final

St Mary’s College Knockbeg 3-13 Patrician SS Newbridge 2-15

St Mary’s College Knockbeg were crowned South Leinster Senior Football ‘A’ League champions today after beating Patrician SS Newbridge in a wonderful final in O’Moore Park, Portlaoise. The Kildare school looked to have the game sewn up on more than one occasion, but Knockbeg showed serious resolve to win the game in the dying seconds.

Knockbeg College celebrate their win today in O’Moore Park
Photo: Knockbeg College Instagram

The Knockbeg fans, as they always do, created a rousing atmosphere in the stands prior to throw-in and throughout the game. But Newbridge were undeterred and hit the ground running, racing into a 1-5 to 0 lead inside 7 minutes including a fantastic soccer-style goal from Harry Redmond.

Knockbeg had to wait until the 12th minute for their first score – a free from Conall Bergin – but once it came, the floodgates began to open. Patrick Julian smashed the ball into the Newbridge net in the 19th minute to make it 1-6 to 1-3.

Newbridge kicked two more points before Bergin went on a tear, raising four white flags without reply, getting his side firmly back into the contest. 1-8 to 1-7 at the break. The Grangenolvin man was instrumental in Knockbeg staying in the fight  in the first half.

Knockbeg did not make life easy for themselves, coughing up five points in succession at the start of the second half, giving themselves a mountain to climb yet again. But they battled their way back and drew level in the 54th minute when substitute, Josh Brady got his team’s second goal.

Five minutes later and Knockbeg went in front for the first time through a fine goal from Mikey Murphy. Murphy used his height to great success towards the end as the St Joseph’s man plucked high balls right out of the sky, winning marks, scoring goals and adding a whole new dimension to his team.

But Newbridge immediately replied with a terrific goal of their own thanks to Cillian Maher in the last seconds of normal time. With the game looking destined for extra time, Knockbeg went the length of the field where Bergin slotted the winning point in the 61st minute.


SCORERS – Knockbeg: Conall Bergin 0-7 (five frees), Mikey Murphy 1-2 (two marks), Patrick Julian and Josh Brady 1-0 each, Ben Slattery 0-1 (free), Jack Byrne, Cillian Maher and John Phiri 0-1 each. Newbridge: Ben Loakman 1-3 (one free), Jack Mahon 0-5 (one free), Harry Redmond 1-0, Conor Sheerin, Ian McLoughlin and Eoin Curtin 0-2 each, Ryan Kearney 0-1.

KNOCKBEG: Oisin Ramsbottom (Timahoe); Matthew Farrell (Palatine), Jesse McEvoy (Ballylinan), Cian Cashman (Palatine); Darragh Loughman (Ballylinan), Jamie Conway (c) (Arles-Kilcruise), Ben Slattery Arles-Kilcruise); John Phiri (Asca), Jack Doyle (Palatine); Mikey Murphy (St Joseph’s), Connall Bergin (Grangenolvin), Aodhán Lowry (Arles-Kilcruise); Patrick Julian (Ballylinan), Cillian Maher (Stradbally), Jack Byrne (Graiguecullen). Subs: , Josh Brady (Eire Og) for Julian (43).

PATRICIAN: Ronan Colins (Moorfield); Sean Brown (Suncroft), James Loughman (Sarsfields), Aidan Joyce Bowles (Moorefield); Conor Sheerin (Milltown), Conor Walsh (Moorefield), Jack Butler (Moorefield); Jack Mahon (Sarsfields), Sean Hennessy (Milltown); Ryan Kearney (Sarsfields), Eoin Curtin (Rathangan), Harry Redmond (Sarsfields); Ian McLoughlin (Moorefield), Ben Loakman (Sarsfields), Sam Ryan (Moorefield).

Subs: Joe Dunne (Milltown) for Hennessy (HT), Cian Byrne (Sarsfields) for Ryan (40).

Referee: Brendan Hickey (Laois)


By Mark Comerford

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 59 9170100

More Carlow Sport

Smyth named in Irish U19 replacements

Similar Articles

Carlow sides progress in schools competitions