Friday, March 24, 2023

ED Byrne has named in the Leinster matchday squad for the first time this year after the team, proudly sponsored by Bank of Ireland, was named to take on reigning-champions the DHL Stormers in Round 16 of the BKT United Rugby Championship, on Friday evening in the RDS Arena, has been named by Leo Cullen (KO: 7:35pm – live on TG4 and URC TV).

Ed Byrne is back in the Leinster squad
Photo: ©INPHO/Tom Maher

Byrne was in fine form when he picked up an unfortunate knee injury in the Champions Cup against Gloucester in the middle of December and he hasn’t played since, but is named among the replacements for tonight’s game. Tickets are still available for tomorrow’s match, the last regular season game to be played at the RDS Arena, and they can be bought from here.Leinster Rugby can also confirm that the Guinness Six Nations trophy will be in attendance at the game and that supporters can get photographs with the trophy from 6pm at Autograph Alley.The game will also serve as a charity match day take-over for the Irish Cancer Society and there will be plenty of opportunities for supporters to show their support for a well deserving charity, while the Official Leinster Supporters Club will be revealing their latest Leinster Rugby Legend after the game in the Guinness Fanzone with a special Q&A with the player and the reveal of the latest charity t-shirt.Rob Russell replaces the injured Jamie Osborne in the only personnel change from the bonus point win over Edinburgh earlier this month. Ciarán Frawley moves from full-back to inside centre, with Jordan Larmour moving from the wing to full-back.Dave Kearney joins Russell and Larmour in the back three, with Liam Turner partnering Frawley in the centre.Harry Byrne and Luke McGrath continue their partnership at half-back.The pack remains unchanged from the win in the Scottish capital. Michael Milne, John McKee and Michael Ala’alatoa retain their places in the front row.Ross Molony is partnered by Jason Jenkins in the second row, with captain Rhys Ruddock, Scott Penny and Max Deegan retaining their places in the back-row.Leinster Rugby (caps in brackets):15. Jordan Larmour (85)14. Rob Russell (15)13. Liam Turner (15)12. Ciarán Frawley (61)11. Dave Kearney (179)10. Harry Byrne (45)9. Luke McGrath (189)1. Michael Milne (27)2. John McKee (14)3. Michael Ala’alatoa (41)4. Ross Molony (157)5. Jason Jenkins (11)6. Rhys Ruddock (219) CAPTAIN7. Scott Penny (52)8. Max Deegan (93)16. Lee Barron (4)17. Ed Byrne (93)18. Vakhtang Abdaladze (25)19. Brian Deeny (10)20. Will Connors (32)21. Nick McCarthy (58)22. Charlie Tector (5)23. Ben Brownlee (2)

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 59 9170100

More Carlow Sport

Similar Articles

Byrne to captain Leinster in Johannesburg

Byrne facing spell on the sidelines